Recognising our volunteers

You are here

Group of 2022 volunteers with their recognition awards

The Gardens and the Friends held a joint volunteer recognition ceremony on Tuesday 29 November on the new Friends Lawn.

The ceremony is an annual event to acknowledge the important contribution that volunteers make to the work of the Gardens and the activities of the Friends.

After brief speeches by Anthony Whalen, Acting Executive Director of the ANBG, and Neville Page, President of the Friends, we heard from special guest speaker Ariah Holmes. Ariah is the  Membership, Training & Capabilities Coordinator, with Volunteering ACT, and currently works with over 200 organisations to build healthy, safe, and sustainable volunteering programs. She is passionate about inclusive volunteering and supporting the wellbeing of volunteers in creative ways.

Ariah then presented awards to participants in Gardens volunteer programs, including a plaque to recognise a remarkable 30 years of volunteer work by Doreen Wilson. Neville presented awards to volunteers in Friends activities and special-interest groups (including several of the sometimes-overlooked group convenors).

Ariah Holmes (at left) with volunteers displaying their awards after the ceremony (Photo: David More)






Awards to Gardens volunteers

The following people were awarded certificates for many years voluntary service to the Gardens:

 10 year certificate:
Fanny Karouta-Manasse
 15 year certificates:
Doug Laing and Judy Evans
 20 year certificates:
Mary Lovett, Margaret Webber, David Coutts and Marguerite Carrington
 30 year certificate:
Doreen Wilson

Special mention was also made of Janelle Chalker, who was a volunteer guide for 24 years before she left.

Awards to Friends volunteers

Certificates were awarded to people who have made significant contributions, particularly in relation to the following Friends activities:

 Wendy Antoniak
Botanic Art Group
 Linda Beveridge
Thursday Talks
 Christianna Cobbold
Social Events and Activities Committee
 Harley Dadswell
Friends Booked Walks program
 Rhonda Daniell
Photographic Group
 Maurice Hermann
Growing Friends
 Helen Hinton
Botanic Art Group
 Lesley King
Friends’ aspects of volunteer guides
 Cathy Robertson
Friends Newsletter and Publications Committee
 Denis Warne
Friends Newsletter and Publications Committee
 Adrienne Nicotra
Public Fund Management Committee
 Jann Ollerenshaw
Public Fund Management Committee

Unfortunately not all these people were able to attend the ceremony.