About us

You are here

We are a non-profit community organisation, incorporated under the ACT Associations Incorporations Act 1991.

Our administering body is the Friends’ Council, which consists of 9 elected members and ex officio (non-voting) members. Council members are elected at our Annual General Meeting; the most recent was on 20 October 2022. Current Council members are:

Executive members

President: Neville Page
Vice President: Linda Beveridge
Secretary: Marg Nicholls
Treasurer: Rod King

Non-executive members

Christianna Cobbold, Alan Henderson, Kerry Moir, Masumi Robertson, Sue Searjeantson

Ex officio members

Gardens’ Executive Director: Anthony Whalen (Acting)
Gardens’ General Manager: Peter Byron
Gardens’ Friends Liaison: Helen McHugh
Friends’ past president: Max Bourke

Subcommittees and Special Interest Groups 2022-2023

A number of sub-groups arrange activities for the Friends, and various committees are appointed by Council. Key members are:

Botanic Art Group

Wendy Antoniak (botanicart@friendsanbg.org.au)


David More, Neville Page (bulletin@friendsanbg.org.au)

Flowers, Fruit & Foliage

Ros Walcott (6161 2742)

Fronds Newsletter

Barbara Podger, Cathy Robertson, Sharon Abrahams, Denis Warne (newsletter@friendsanbg.org.au)

Growing Friends

Maurice Hermann (growingfriends@friendsanbg.org.au)


Kerry Moir (guides@friendsanbg.org.au), Andrew Bettell (booked walks) (bookedwalks@friendsanbg.org.au)

IT Advisers

David More, Les Fielke (techsupport@friendsanbg.org.au)


Lesley Harland, Pam Cooke, Evelyn Jacobsen (membership@friendsanbg.org.au)

Photographic Group

Steven Playford (Convenor), Paul Bainton (Membership Secretary), Rodney Garnett, John Bundock (General Members) (photo@friendsanbg.org.au)

Plant Science Group

John Busby (Convenor), John Fitzgerald, Lesley Harland, Zoe Knapp (plantscience@friendsanbg.org.au)

Projects Committee

Alan Henderson (Convenor), Sharon Abrahams, David Coutts, Lynne Curran, Wanda Filsell, Kristiane Herrmann, Ian Primrose

Schools Photo Competition 2024

Sandra Simpson (Convenor), Cecilia Melano (schoolphoto@friendsanbg.org.au)

Social Events and Activities

Christianna Cobbold, Lynden Ayliffe (events@friendsanbg.org.au)

Thursday Talks

Linda Beveridge, Patrick De Deckker, Barbara Hamburger, Elaine Staples (talks@friendsanbg.org.au)


Beth Tyerman, David More, Jennifer Barnes (website@friendsanbg.org.au)


2022 Friends Council Members
2022 Friends Council Members

Back Row, Left to right: Alan Henderson, Christianna Cobbold, Linda Beveridge, Masumi Robertson, Kerry Moir.

Front Row, Left to right: Louise Maher (since resigned), Neville Page, Anne Holmes  (Photo by Brian Moir)


Minutes of Friends' Council Meetings:




Minutes archive


34th Annual General Meeting, 20 October 2022


AGM archive


Annual General Meetings: Archive


Nomination form for Friends Council (Word, 19 KB)

Other documents

Friends Strategic Plan 2022-26 Final, 2021 (PDF, 196 KB)

Friends Constitution (PDF, 254 KB) This new Constitution was agreed by members at the 2022 AGM and came into effect in October 2022.

Friends’ Strategic Plan 2020–2025 

Guidelines for the Friends to fund projects in the ANBG

Memorandum of Understanding between Director of National Parks and Friends of the ANBG Revised 12 November 2020

A Short History of the Friends by Don Beer February 2015

Australian alpine plant research, conservation and management. Published by the Friends of the ANBG, October 2014



David Coutts' paper at ANPC conference October 2012