2022 AGM summary report

You are here

Our 34th AGM, held on 20 October 2022 in the ANBG Theatrette, was well attended by Friends and key Garden staff.

After the minutes of the 33rd AGM were accepted, the President (Neville Page) reported on Friends activities and, in the absence of the Treasurer, presented the financial statements. In brief, our membership and finances remain strong and our dedicated volunteers continue to help raise the profile of the Gardens. The minutes and full reports are available for download from the links below.

Executive Director

Dr Judy West (Executive Director of the ANBG) then gave a presentation on the various programs and building works taking place across the Gardens. She referred to the wonderful support that the Friends have provided for many years, including through the ten volunteer programs. Judy also advised that she would be retiring at the end of the month and said that it had been a real pleasure to work together with the Friends.

At the end of the meeting, Neville Page wished Judy West a happy retirement and on behalf of Council and the Friends presented her with a small gift.


A Special Resolution concerning amendments to our Constitution was passed. These amendments were needed to keep our Constitution up to date. The key change that affects members is that proxy voting will now be permitted at annual general and special general meetings.

Election of Office-Bearers and Council members

Voting was not required for the position of President or Treasurer as only one nomination was received for each of these positions. There were three nominations for the four vacant positions of ordinary Council member so those candidates were also taken to be elected.

This means that:

  • Neville Page (President since October 2020) and Anne Holmes (who filled the casual vacancy of Treasurer in April 2022) will continue as President and Treasurer respectively
  • Alan Henderson (Council member since September 2018) continues as an ordinary member and is joined by Christianna Cobbold and Masumi Robertson
  • the position of Secretary is vacant as no nomination was received and one position of ordinary Council member is also vacant.

Since their term of office has not expired, Linda Beveridge will continue as Vice-President and Kerry Moir as an ordinary member.

Life Members

The outstanding contributions that Helen Elliot, Lesley Jackman, and David and Jill More have made to the Friends were recognised by presentation of Life Membership awards. We congratulate them and thank them for their commitment and hard work over many years.

Meeting papers